Preserving Garlic

P111314_1647b

About half of our garlic crop came in as these extra large single cloves that looked more like small onions. They still tasted great, though!

What to do with all that Garlic?

We had a harvest of garlic this year. Having only ever purchased the occasional clove or two from the store, it was a little overwelming to have several pounds all at once!
Thankfully, garlic keeps very well in a dry, cool place. Now that preserving season is over, I’ve been turning my attention to how to make that garlic a little easier to get into. If you’re like me, dinner is a busy. There’s not always a lot of time. Peeling and mincing fresh garlic, as much as I love to do it, just doesn’t happen.
So I’ve been exploring ways to preserve garlic, already peeled and minced, to toss into whatever recipe I’m making.

 

What’s your favorite way to use garlic?

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes

4 responses to “Preserving Garlic

  1. Baked garlic is very tasty. You slice it really thin and spray a little olive oil on it and put it in the oven on a high temp until it turns golden brown and crispy but not burnt. It makes a great topping for food dishes or just snacking on plain.

    Like

    • Yum! I’ll have to try that. I’ve been baking it in foil, and it turns soft and you can spread it on toast like butter. (The recipe will be posted next week!) Derek has totally fallen in love with garlic.
      I bet Derek would love it crispy too. I know I would!

      Like

  2. reiknight

    The single cloves are marketed as no mess garlic here – 1 clove, almost no peeling. They charge almost $30 a kg for them in the farmers markets here!!!! Or, worse yet, $2.50 each! Sad thing is people gladly pay that price because they hate getting rid of the skins. I know it is my most hated kitchen duty. Garlic skins and onion skins are the worst, but I’m not silly enough to pay $2.50 each, not with the amount of garlic we eat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

