Cleaning Dehydrator Racks

IMGA0547(0001)

Vinegar, scrub brush, bottle scrubby – my powerhouse team!

This year my husband and I invested in a dehydrator. (If you’ve ever been overwhelmed by cherry tomatoes, then you understand.) It worked like a dream. But cleaning afterwards? Oh my!

My first try with my faithful scrub brush and dish soap didn’t end well. I couldn’t get a good suds going. Once I did, the good suds refused to rinse off very easily. More than once I ended up flicking bits of sud up the walls and up on my shirt. It was like washing a colander – a giant, flat colander that refused to fit in the sink.

There had to be an easier way!

The solution? The dish soap and suds left the picture. Instead, I used a straight solution of vinegar in a spray bottle for a cleaner, and my faithful scrubbers. And it worked great! All the residue from dehydrating the apples came right off.

It’s amazing how having an easy way to clean an appliance encourages a person to use it more.

How do you clean you dehydrator racks? Do you have a stubborn kitchen appliance that defies an easy, thorough cleaning?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Cleaning Dehydrator Racks

  1. Jean Schneider

    I don’t have a dehydrator, but vinegar works well in cleaning a microwave.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the tip! I end up soaking my racks for an hour in hot sudsy water and then soaking them in fresh warm water to remove it all but I will have to try your way! 🙂 Thank you for sharing on the Art of Home-Making Mondays!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on and commented:

    Still my favorite way to clean dehydrator racks.
    No fresh garden produce is needed to keep these guys in use.
    I’m looking forward to drying oranges, pineapple, kiwi, and other winter fruits. We’ll see how it goes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

