Kohlrabi

It brings one of two reactions from people:

“I love kohlrabi!”

Or. . .

“What’s kohlrabi?”IMG_0629

I’m afraid I fell into the second category when Derek first tossed some of this vegetable into a stirfry. Being from Arizona, I thought I was looking at an alien flora as I took up the knife to peel one. A dense green bulb with shoots springing out of it’s smooth surface.

Kohlrabi (pronounced “Coal*Raw*Bee”), meaning cabbage turnip, is indeed a member of Brassica oleracea family. That is, the same family as cauliflower, broccoli, cabbage, brussels sprouts, and other such cold crops. (It also happens to taste a good deal like cabbage and cauliflower too.) It has a good source of vitamins, minerals, and fiber, most notable vitamin C.

Usually, once the question of “What is a Kohlrabi?” is answered, the next question usually is: “What do you do with it?” Besides peeling it and eating it raw, not many people seem to know. (Believe me, I’ve asked, too.)

Do you eat kohlrabi? Do you have any good recipes for it?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Kohlrabi

  1. Raylene Grose

    I grew up eating kohlrabi from my grandma’s garden. We always ate it raw. Recently I’ve been hearing those people cooking it but I wonder why? Mine would never make it to the pan!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

