Landscaping

We’ve been asked a few times what Derek’s landscaping work looks like. So I thought I’d post a few pictures and let you see this current project he’s been working on for his parents.

IMG_0976

This is the front of the house. Derek put in all these plants that you see.IMG_0979

A closer view of the front — Day lilies, roses, tulips, and several other bushes Derek would know the name of if he were here! (I like those big furry-looking bushes under the window!)

IMG_0982

The south west corner of the house.IMG_0983

This is a newer edition on the west side. The bushes towards the wall are magnolias, more day lilies, the spiny-looking one is a tiger-eyes sumac. Derek designed and laid the brick and rock himself. (Needless to say, I was IMPRESSED! I could never do that.)IMG_0985

The north-west corner and more of the west wall. The tiny tree right on the corner isn’t a tree, but a lilac! Hostas line the north wall.IMG_0992

Close-up of the hostas, and at the very end is a bleeding heart.IMG_0993IMG_0994

More of Derek’s brickwork; he laid most of the rock too! (My favorites are the variegated hostas with the white on them!)

IMG_0988

A wind break of arborvitae. (Haha! I can’t believe I spelled that right on the first try!) As you might be able to see, Derek is still working on mulching around them with wood chips. Boy, will it look nice once finished!

IMG_1013

The east side of the house is the most flowery! It’s a menagerie of colored iris, a peony, hostas, lilies, phlaux, and many more I’m forgetting. I’ve got to get you a picture of this bed when it’s blooming! IMG_1011

The line of brick is a new edition — it supposed to make lawn mowing easier without all those corners. Derek planted a few extra lilies you see there on the end. You can never have too many lilies.

IMG_1010IMG_0972

What would you call this? A center piece? It’s an old plow in the middle of the lawn Derek landscaped around. A double mock orange is on the right. (Can you believe the flowers smell like juicy-fruit gum?) A lovely pink rose is on the left side, and there’s a smattering of decorative grass that comes up along the edges. It’s so cool!!!!

IMG_0986

Another “center piece.” It was supposed to hide the well, but SOMEBODY threw in an antique lawnmower in the middle. I enjoy the bushy ever-green in the back. The dogwood with the lighter leaves has had better days — it just got a seasonal haircut.

So there you have it! When Derek isn’t gardening, this is what he enjoys doing in his free time — landscaping.

5 Comments

Filed under landscaping

5 responses to “Landscaping

  1. Can he come do my place next? I have stuff to work with… lots of stuff. It’s an uuuugly set of yards. How about some Aussie natives? Golden wattle, bottlebrush, tea tree (not the camellia that tea comes from lol) eucalyptus… I’d love bulbed flowers, but they don’t grow in my climate. 😦 Envious of those brick edges. They’d assist with stopping the grass from taking over the beds too… *kicks half rotten log toward the “garden bed” to trap the grass*. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi TJ! Derek was flattered when I told him about your comment. If he could, I’m sure he would come over to help you. I have a good friend I chat with in Australia, so I definitely hear ya! That’s some tough terrain to landscape and garden in some places. I’d never heard of Golden wattle or bottlebrush, so I googgled it. Those are very exquisite! I’ve never seen anything even similar in America. I have to tell you, for what Australia may challenge in landscaping, it more than make up for with its wild nature scenery. The pictures of landscape my friend sent me were to swoon over!

      Thanks for writing! Hope you have a lovely day!
      -Christina

      Like

  2. Everything looks so nice! And I am sure it does even more so when all the flowers are in bloom!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Planting Peach Trees | Doehrmann Farms

Leave a Reply

