“Pots o’ Things”

IMG_1131

God’s kindness towards me a very overwhelming sometimes. During some health struggles last year, I had to choose to let my mints, lavender, dill, parsley, rosemary, and basil succumb to the elements. It was very sad for me to have to give them up. I held out hope maybe they’d survive the winter, but the dead, brittle stalks remained despite spring rain and sunshine.

So seeing this, Derek decided one day to completely restore my meager herb garden. He took me on date to Theisens and told pick out literally whatever I liked and however much I wanted. (I have a hard time purchasing things for myself; a statement like that is enough to make me melt into a puddle.) He said it was so that I “could have plenty of pots o’ things.”

IMG_1132

Oregano

IMG_1133

Dill

IMG_1134

Chives. These were the only survivors from last year.

IMG_1135

Spearmint — a personal favorite of Derek’s.

IMG_1136

Sage.

IMG_1137

Chamomile. I enjoy this tea so much. I’m looking forward to having so to grow.

IMG_1139

Thyme. The tan pots in the back are full of basil

At this point, I kept trying to limit myself in what I chose. So Derek took over and began putting plants in the cart on my behalf. He refused to let us leave until he’d picked out at least one of every type of herb Theisens had to offer.

IMG_1140

Stevia. I’m interest to see how this turns out in tea. Derek also got Lemon Grass and Lavender for me also.

IMG_1142

Plain Parsley. There’s Italian Parsley too.

IMG_1144

Peppermint. This is my favorite. There was also Applemint, Pinapple Mint, Mojito Mint, and Chocolate Mint. I thought I uploaded pics for them too, but now I can’t find them! Opps.

IMG_1145

Lemon Balm. I’ve never tried this herb. If it’s lemon, it’s got to be good.

IMG_1146

Whoa! Those aren’t herbs. Derek also planted a few peppers and tomatoes right outside the door to be easy for me to reach.

 

IMG_1143

Onions from Derek’s grandma. They taste just like green onions!

I hope I’ll be better and able to keep them alive this year. I’m sure they won’t all survive (I’m very new to herb gardening; I’m sure I’ll botch something!), but that’s okay. I’m thankful to have fresh herbs for today.

It’s hard for me to wrap my head around how much kindness God shows me through my husband. I’m so thankful God brought us together. God is so good!

The Lord is righteous in all his ways and kind in all his works. (Psalm 145:17 )

 

3 Comments

Filed under God's Creation, Uncategorized

3 responses to ““Pots o’ Things”

  1. Reblogged this on Praise the Lord! Oh give thanks to the Lord, for he is good, for his steadfast love endures forever! and commented:

    Some things happening outside in the gardening are really a big blessing. God is so good!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The First Snowy Morning | Doehrmann Farms

  3. Pingback: The Mint that Lived | Doehrmann Farms

Leave a Reply

