1st Christmas (Part 1)

It’s true; we’ve been married for 3 years now, but this is the first Christmas we’ve been able to celebrate as a couple together. It’s the first time we’ve both felt well enough to do Christmas activities!

I was so excited!!! I began preparing and planning in October. (I really enjoy the holiday season, if you haven’t noticed.) Thankfully, we, well, ahem, I dreamed big and kept our expectations small. We didn’t end up doing even half the things we dreamed about for Christmas! What we did have opportunity to do, we enjoyed immensely! (I’m sure that dream list will come in handy for future Christmases.)

The most lovely moist snow came down a week or two before Christmas. On a warmer day (30F), I happened to have off work and Derek, being all tuckered out, napped on the couch. I couldn’t resist it! The urge to make a snowman drew me outdoors.

img_1643

He’s looking a little rough in this picture, it being a few warm days later. He’d been quite perfect at the beginning, I assure you. On Derek’s awaking, I informed him we had a visitor and pointed out the window. You should have seen Derek laugh and shake his head!

And the baking! Oh my, the food is a highlight for the holiday season. It’s an excuse to cook in abundance; and no worries about their being enough mouths to eat it all. I felt very happy for the chance to make sugar cookies!

img_1607

This is the maiden voyage of my Kitchenaid. After three years in post-marital storage, I couldn’t help bouncing around at the chance to break it out and use it for the first time. As a small setback, it came out of the box brand new and… malfunctioning. A few youtube videos, some screwdrivers, and a little elbow grease got it up and running again. It handled a double batch of sugar cookies no problem. Now, if only I can find those needlenose pliers, I can finish the last little repair on it…

img_1613

Sugar cookies!!! Some ready for the oven, some fresh out.

img_1612

This sorry candy cane sugar cookie didn’t survive the transfer from the pan to the cooling rack. Tsk, tsk, and we all know what happens to malformed sugar cookies. 🙂 [Pretend you don’t see the bite mark out of the end.]

img_1614

Another casualty! This gingerbread man couldn’t take the heat of the oven and lost his head. He went the way of the broken candy cane cookie.img_1616

Frosting — the only part better than mixing and baking cookies!img_1615

I realized that only sprinkles for Christmas cookies I had on hand were these flower sequins. Sprinkles had slipped my mind while making the Christmas cooking shopping list. Oh well, it is only my 1st time heading up Christmas in a household. Gotta fail somewhere. 🙂

Plus, Derek didn’t notice. As long as nobody tells him, he’ll never know! Sh!

img_1617

Bedtime approached, and I ran out of time to frost all the cookies. Baking 2 batches after a day at work didn’t feel like meager accomplishment to me. I’m glad I got the important cookies frosted — those destined to wait for my sweetie when he got home late. Those are the ones on the plate. None survived the night.

To be continued… In Part 2!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

